Archives

30 Years Ago KRS-One Carried BDP’s Torch By All Means Necessary

In the late 1980s, Boogie Down Productions was one of Hip-Hop’s most exciting new groups. KRS-One and DJ Scott La Rock carved their lane with early 1987’s Criminal Minded. The

By All Means Necessary: How Boogie Down Productions Was Formed Against All Odds (Video)

“You could call a man a bum with disgust on your morning run. ‘Cause he lives outside in the street, you don’t know this, but you’ve failed to realize that

FRESH For 2017: Watch Video Of The Unveiling Of Scott La Rock Boulevard

Boogie Down Productions co-founder Scott La Rock (aka Scott Sterling) was immortalized with a boulevard named in his honor, in the borough he loved. In the Bronx, New York yesterday

Scott La Rock To Have Street In The Boogie Down Bronx Named In His Honor (Video)

This upcoming August 27 marks 30 years since Scott La Rock (aka Scott Sterling) was shot and killed in the Bronx, New York. A founding member and DJ/producer of Boogie

DJ Red Alert Offers Some Deep History About Why The Bridge Wars Really Started (Video)

Hip-Hop’s biggest story-line in March of 2017 is a Bronx MC apparently responding to an MC from Queens on the microphone in back-to-back disses. Thirty years ago today (March 3,

Rare Video Reveals That B.D.P.’s Criminal Minded Was An Answer To Non-Believers

Thirty years ago this week (March 3, 1987), the direction and style of Hip-Hop forever changed thanks to Boogie Down Productions’ debut album, Criminal Minded. With only “South Bronx” in

Just-Ice Reveals Vivid Details About The Day Scott La Rock Was Killed (Video)

Boogie Down Productions co-founder DJ Scott La Rock is a Hip-Hop luminary that much of the world never got to properly know. On August 27, 1987, the DJ/producer born Scott

Boogie Down Productions’ Criminal Minded vs. Ghostface Killah’s Supreme Clientele. Which Is Better?

One year ago, Ambrosia For Heads launched a debate among its readers seeking to answer one of Hip-Hop’s most hotly-contested questions: who is the greatest MC of all time? “Finding

Marley Marl Says KRS-One Asked To Be In The Juice Crew & “The Bridge” Leaked (Audio)

Iconic Hip-Hop producer and DJ Marley Marl is the most recent guest on Ice-T’s Final Level Podcast. The man largely responsible for introducing the music community to Big Daddy Kane,

Big Daddy Kane Reveals KRS-One Is The Battle He Really Wanted & Why It Never Happened (Video)

Big Daddy Kane was a recent guest on Ed Lover’s Sirius XM Backspin show. In addition to adding some context to his championing Macklemore & Ryan Lewis’ willingness to work

The Numbers Show Police Don’t Care About Dead Rappers

For millennia, mankind has been at war. Whether in the name of religion, territory, love, greed, revenge, or duty, human casualties have remained constant throughout civilization, and as society is

Boogie Down Productions’ Criminal Minded vs. Public Enemy’s Yo! Bum Rush The Show. Which Is Better?

One year ago, Ambrosia For Heads launched a debate among its readers seeking to answer one of Hip-Hop’s most hotly-contested questions: who is the greatest MC of all time? “Finding

DJ Red Alert Explains How The Bridge Wars Began, Tells His Story (Audio)

Fresh off of DJ Kool Herc’s groundbreaking interview with The Combat Jack Show, another Hip-Hop pioneer is profiled extensively. Kool DJ Red Alert is Combat’s guest this week. The Harlem,

Here’s the Story of How KRS-One & Scott La Rock Met…Comic Book Style

Here’s something incredibly dope for fans of Comics, Hip-Hop or both. Ed Piskor, renowned cartoonist and author of the Hip-Hop Family Tree graphic novel, has released the account of how

D-Nice Recalls The Day Of Scott La Rock’s Murder, Reveals That After BDP, He Battled Homelessness (Audio)

One of Hip-Hop’s most resilient figures is D-Nice. The Human TR-808 came into vogue as an MC, down with KRS-One, Scott La Rock, and Boogie Down Productions. Rolling with one