Run The Jewels’ RTJ2’s Tracklist Features An Ode To Akinyele & Zack de la Rocha

After dominating a wealth of 2013 Year-End Lists, Killer Mike & El-P’s Run The Jewels battery is recharged with RTJD2, due on October 28. Today, the Fort Greene, Brooklyn-to-Adamsville, Atlanta connect unveiled their tracklisting.

Late ’90s Rock Heads may appreciate that guests include Zack de la Rocha (Rage Against The Machine) and Travis Barker (Blink 182!). Fans of early ’90s Hip-Hop will also appreciate the fact that the two MCs have an apparent ode to Akinyele on the 11-track LP.

According to a report on 2DopeBoyz, the effort marks a label-move for RTJ. Going from A-Trak’s Fool’s Gold Records, the pair now signs with Mass Appeal Records, the Nas-backed imprint division of Decon. What’s especially cool to boot is Nas and Akinyele were fellow proteges of Large Professor, and with DJ Rob Swift (X-Ecutionerz), the quartet was a touring unit in the early ’90s.

However, fans of the first Run The Jewels roll-out will surely appreciate this: Heads still get a free download of the album, with vinyl LP and CD available to boot.

Here is the tracklist:


1. Jeopardy
2. Oh My Darling Don’t Cry
3. Blockbuster Night Part 1
4. Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck) f. Zack de la Rocha
5. All My Life
6. Lie, Cheat, Steal
7. Early f. BOOTS
8. All Due Respect f. Travis Barker
9. Love Again (Akinyele Back)
10. Crown f. Diane Coffee
11. Angel Duster

Think RTJ is making another threat to this year in music’s memory?

#Bonus Beat: On the subject of Ak’, check out this Gangsta Rap slept-on gem if you haven’t, “Outta State” from 1993’s Interscope Records pump-fake, Vagina Diner.

Related: You’re In For A Blockbuster Night With Run The Jewels (Audio)