With Sounds By The Roots & J Dilla, Preview Snippets Of Joey Bada$$’s B4.Da.$$ (Audio)

Over the weekend, the full artwork, tracklisting and production credits for Joey Bada$$’ studio debut, B4.Da.$$ (January 20) were released:


1. Save The Children (prod by Statik Selektah)
2. Greenbax (prod by Lee Bannon)
3. Paper Trails (prod. by DJ Premier)
4. Piece of Mine (prod by Freddie Joachim)
5. Big Dusty (prod by Kirk Knight)
6. Hazeus View (prod. by Kirk Knight)
7. Like Me ft. BJ The Chicago Kid (prod. by J Dilla & The Roots)
8. Belly Of The Beast ft. Chronixx (prod by Hit-Boy)
9. No. 99 (prod. by Statik Selektah)
10. Christ Conscious (prod. by Basquiat)
11. On & On ft. Maverick Sabre & Dyemond Lewis (prod by Freddie Joachim)
12. Escape 120″ featuring Raury (prod. by Chuck Strangers)
13. Black Beatles (prod by Chuck Strangers)
14. O.C.B. (prod. by Sam I AM & The Soul Rebels)
15. Curry Chicken (prod. by Statik Selektah)
(Bonus) Run Up On Ya ft. Action Bronson & Elle Varner (prod. by Statik Selektah)
(Bonus) Teach Me How ft. Kiesza (prod by Chuck Strangers & ASTR)

Notably, the Cinematic star from Brooklyn is slim on features, letting his own voice shine with a lot of production from Pro Era’s Chuck Strangers and close affiliate, Statik Selektah. Additionally, DJ Premier blessed Joey (again), as has a posthumous J Dilla creation, assisted by Questlove and The Roots.

With just over three weeks ’til release date, Joey dropped more than eight minutes of snippets from the 15-plus-track LP. Heads will hear that Bada$$ isn’t just a throwback, as this effort seems to bridge the gap on tomorrow, today, and 1990-something, with a balanced presentation of lyrics and styles from the mixtape master.

Related: GOAT: Which One of These MCs Deserves a Shot at Advancing to Round 2?