Chance The Rapper’s Coloring Book Is Another Creative Acid Trip (Album Stream)

Three years ago last month (April 30, 2013) Chance The Rapper’s Acid Rap positioned the Chicago, Illinois MC as one to watch in the elite crop of new Rap songwriters. In the time since, C.T.R. has evaded the usual trajectory of peers (ScHoolboy Q, Vic Mensa, Action Bronson), all of whom signed with major labels to move their music from DIY to the industry machine. Instead, Chance has seemingly built his career around touring, features, and giving fans music for free.

Chance the Rapper & Donnie Trumpet Release a Star-Studded Free Album (Stream & Download)

He follows up Acid Rap with Coloring Book, another no-cost release that proves big on delivery. This work, like its predecessor, ignores the mixtape format in many ways—standing as a free LP. The iTunes project features platinum peers such as Kanye West, Lil Wayne, T-Pain, and even Justin Bieber among its 14 tracks. Now a father and a burgeoning mainstream star, Chance maintains his style of positive vibes, inward-reaching themes, and melodic Hip-Hop. Coloring Book is a groundbreaking kaleidoscope of style—rooted in making the Windy City and Rap music at large a more fulfilling, healthy place.

In one of the many standout tracks, Jay Electronica joins Chance on the aptly-titled “How Great.” The song begins with a several-minutes long Gospel intro, sung by a full choir. The swelling harmonies lead off with the refrain “How great is our God.” Chance’s vocals do not even begin until 3 minutes into the song. While he often flexes a sing-songy flow, in this instance, he is in full rapper mode and shows just what a formidable MC he is. Jay Elec takes the song home with an equally soaring verse.

Stream the album, as one of Hip-Hop’s most unconventional stars steps forth with a project that ignores conventional wisdom, and maintains its voice and purpose from the most raw, authentic creative place. Jay Electronica, Jeremih, and protege Saba show out, in making one of 2016’s most exciting long-form releases:


You can also stream the album in full here.

Chance The Rapper’s Coloring Book Tracklist:

  1. “All We Got” f. Kanye West
  2. “No Problem” f. Lil Wayne & 2 Chainz
  3. “Summer Friends” f. Jeremih & Francis & The Lights
  4. “D.R.A.M. Sings Special”
  5. “Blesssings”
  6. “Same Drugs”
  7. “Mixtape” f. Young Thug & Lil Yachty
  8. “Angels” f. Saba
  9. “Juke Jam” f. Justin Bieber & Towkio
  10. “All Night” f. Knox Fortune
  11. “How Great” f. Jay Electronica
  12. “Smoke Break” f. Future
  13. “FInish Line/Drown” f. T-Pain, Kirk Franklin, Eryn Allen Kane & Noname
  14. “Blessings”