De La Soul’s Guest-Packed “And The Anonymous Nobody” Tracklist Is Revealed

One of 2016’s most anticipated albums is De La Soul’s And The Anonymous Nobody. The August 26 LP is the Long Island, New York trio’s first proper studio work in more than 11 years. Further, this marks the first time in their 27-year history that Posdnuos, Dave, and Maseo are releasing an album outside of the traditional label system. Instead, the group used a Kickstarter campaign to raise funds for the album directly from fans. Seeking an initial $110,000, the group would raise an astonishing $600,000 in 33 days.

Today (May 20), And The Anonymous Nobody goes on pre-sale. While contributors gave money to receive various packaging of the album, general fans of the gold-selling group may now pre-order the LP. They released a promotional video, featuring some new music in the background:

De La Soul Is Alive & Working On The Album Of Its Career (Interview)

With the pre-sale, De La Soul confirmed And The Anonymous Nobody‘s tracklist. Previously mentioned guests such as The Talking Heads’ David Byrne, Snoop Dogg, Pete Rock, 2 Chainz, Usher Gorillaz’ Damon Albarn, Jill Scott, Roc Marciano, and Little Dragon have made the album.

As a setup to the album, De La released For Your Pain & Suffering on April 29, a four-song promotional EP.

The Pablo Stanley-created artwork and track listing is as follows:


1.          Genesis (intro) feat. Jill Scott 1:38
2.          Royalty Capes 3:50
3.          Pain feat. Snoop Dogg 4:44
4.          Property Of Spitkicker (feat. Roc Marciano) 5:27
5.          Memory Of… (Us) (feat. Estelle & Pete Rock) 5:09
6.          CBGBS 1:22
7.          Lord Intended (feat. Justin Hawkins) 7:17
8.          Snoopies (feat. David Byrne)4:14
9.          Greyhounds (feat. Usher) 5:23
10.        Sexy Bitch 1:53
11.        Trainwreck 3:21
12.        Drawn (feat. Little Dragon) 5:36
13.        Whoodeeni (feat. 2 Chainz) 4:29
14.        Nosed Up 4:01
15.        You Go Dave (A Goldblatt Presentation) 1:22
16.        Here In After (feat. Damon Albarn) 5:35
17.        Exodus (Outro) 3:17

Photo by Photo Rob.

While the album was funded differently, it comes via the group’s own A.O.I. imprint (Art Official Intelligence). Previously, the independent moniker released 2006’s Impossible Mission: TV Series, Part 1 compilation.

Last week, in celebration of De La’s sophomore album, De La Soul Is Dead, reaching its 25th anniversary, the trio unveiled a shelved song from the album, and created candlelight vigils at two landmarks surrounding the album’s creation.