Public Enemy Release Their Free Album 5 Days Early. Listen Now. (Audio)

AUGUST 16 UPDATE: The YouTube post of the album has been added below.

ORIGINAL JUNE 29 STORY: Earlier this week, it announced that Public Enemy’s 14th album Nothing Is Quick In The Desert (Except Death) would be releasing on July 4. Perhaps basking in the day of their own independence, Chuck D, Flavor Flav, Professor Griff, DJ Lord, and Khari Wynn dropped the album five days early. Even more, it’s available for free.

Chuck D Tells Kool Moe Dee That Spike Lee Did For Public Enemy What Radio Wouldn’t (Video)

“If the Internet is here, what’s our proper use for the Internet?” Chuck D rhetorically asked in a statement to HipHopDX. “Is it a toy or a tool? There are so many ways to tie the world together. It’s called the world wide web and you can web people for good, too. I’ve wanted to do this [free album] for a very long time. We had to wait for the world to catch up. We did the first downloadable album ever — There’s A Poison Going On — in 1999. Public Enemy helped usher in the Internet age in Hip Hop. We are a part of that revolution that introduced the Internet to everybody from a musical standpoint.” Leaving Def Jam in the late 1990s, P.E. were early adopters to Internet release, while touring extensively. Chuck D has also run Slam Jamz Digital, a music label that’s dropped projects by Easy Mo Bee, Son Of Bazerk, and Hyenas In The Desert.

After 30 years, 106 tours across 105 countries and countless records, THANK YOU! This one is on Public Enemy. Get it while it’s free,” Chuck D tells his fans on the Bandcamp album page, where the album is posted for stream and download. Notably, some mid-1980s peers show up on the album, including Ice-T and Parrish “PMD” Smith:

“Got To Try A New Position.” How Public Enemy Made Prince Change His Sound

The tracklisting to Nothing Is Quick In The Desert (Except Death):

  1. Nothing Is Quick In The Desert
  2. sPEak!
  3. Yesterday Man
  4. Exit Your Mind
  5. Beat Them All
  6. Smash The Crowd f. Ice-T & PMD
  7. If You Can’t Join Em Beat Em
  8. So Be It
  9. SOC MED Digital Heroin
  10. Terrorwrist
  11. Toxic
  12. Smells Like Teens Hear It
  13. Rest In Beats (Parts 1&2)