Atmosphere Are Releasing A New Album. Their New Video Deals With Aging Without Fear

Hip-Hop Fans, please subscribe to AFH TV, a streaming video service focused on real Hip-Hop culture. We already have exclusive interviews, documentaries, and rare freestyles featuring some of Rap’s most iconic artists and personalities, and much more is coming--movies, TV series, talk shows. We need your support. It is only $1.99/month or $12/year, and is available on iOS, Android, Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire and Google TV, for all subscribers. Start your 30-day free trial now. Thank you.

Earlier this month, Atmosphere released a video for “Make It All Better.” The song detailed the strife of breaking up with a significant other and the subsequent pain that can linger. Now Ant and Slug have announced their latest album Mi Vida Local and have simultaneously released the project’s first video,  for the song “Virgo.” Both the video and the album deal with aging and the struggle to adjust to one’s later years.

“Virgo” specifically places Slug and Ant back in their Midwestern roots as they travel by train across America’s heartland. Shot on Super 8mm film, the Jason Goldwatch-directed visual portrays much of the country’s forgotten areas as Slug raps about his fear of growing old and his legacy being forgotten.

Atmosphere’s Song About Depression & Heartache Addresses More Than Relationships (Audio)

Y’all got me feeling hesitation, embarrassment, I might be the last generation of grandparents / I know that I’ve been fortunate for all the opportunities / disproportionately disappointed in the human beings / I get it, we’re specks of dust / At the bus stop bustin’ for extra crust / Like fuck it, you can sacrifice me to the weather / if you promise you’ll let my songs live forever.

As for their forthcoming album, Atmosphere is slated to drop Mi Vida Local on October 5. The 12-track project will feature appearances by Cashinova, The Lioness, Musab, The Dynospectrum, and Rhymesayers’ deM atlaS. The Minneapolis duo will also hit the road for a North American tour beginning on their album release date in Grand Rapids, Michigan and ending on December 8 in Nashville, Tennessee. Tickets are available here.

Below is the full track listing for Mi Vida Local, which fans can pre-order here:

1. “Jerome”
2. “Stopwatch”
3. “Virgo”
4. “Delicate”
5. “Drown” feat. Cashinova, The Lioness & deM atlaS
6. Anymore”
7. “Earring” feat. Musab
8. “Trim”
9. “Specificity”
10. “Mijo”
11. “Randy Mosh” feat. The Dynospectrum
12. “Graffiti”