A Video Shows Mobb Deep’s Lethal Sampling For “Murda Muzik,” On Its 19th Birthday

Mobb Deep’s fourth album, Murda Muzik, remains their best-selling album to date. It began the duo’s transition from New York street poets into a pair capable of making records that played on the radio, video shows, and the clubs at once. Havoc didn’t forfeit his gift for sampling in the process though, and the records he used to sculpt instrumentals for the Queensbridge group’s 1999 LP showcase why he’s one of the greats.

#WaxOnly recently posted a video showing how Hav’ was able to transition records into his own vicious beats. Some of the more poignant instances include Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five’s “White Lines (Don’t Do It)” being flipped for “Quiet Storm,” Sade’s “Fear” to “Where Ya Heart At,” Ecstacy, Passion & Pain’s “Born To Lose You” to “The Realest,” and James Taylor And The Flying Machine’s “Knocking ‘Round The Zoo” to “Adrenaline.”

A New Video Shows The Music OutKast Had In The Caddy To Make A Classic Album

Murda Muzik was released 19 years ago today (August 17) and was certified Platinum by the RIAA just two months later. It features appearances from Nas, Raekwon, Kool G Rap, 8 Ball, Lil’ Kim, Cormega, Big Noyd, Chinky, and Lil’ Cease of Junior M.A.F.I.A. It also marked the duo’s first deviation from all in-house production since their debut Juvenile Hell, as The Alchemist, T-Mix, and others stepped in to provide assistance behind the boards.