The Black Eyed Peas’ New Album Features Phife Dawg, Nas, Slick Rick & More

Next week, the Black Eyed Peas will release Masters Of The Sun, Volume 1 (October 26). The album arrives almost eight years to the month since the last B.E.P. full-length, The Beginning. Since then, much has changed. Like Dr. Dre,, who is credited as a Beats By Dre co-founder, made a presumed fortune in the company’s sale to Apple. As far as B.E.P., Fergie, who joined the Southern California collective for its meteoric mainstream rise and multi-platinum success in the early-2000s, has at least temporarily left the fold.,, and Taboo now carry on a tradition which dates back to the early 1990s.

For a collective recognized as a major label-backed part of the late ’90s Underground Hip-Hop movement, B.E.P. appears to be celebrating that history. Notably, M.O.T.S. involves three Native Tongues artists. The late Phife Dawg will appear on “ALL AROUND THE WORLD.” The 5-Foot-Assassin, who passed away in 2016, will appear on the song with the Peas, as well as A Tribe Called Quest band-mate Ali Shaheed Muhammad. Meanwhile, De La Soul’s Posdnuos (aka Plug 1) also appears on the upcoming song. Other guests include Hip-Hop royalty including Nas and Slick Rick. The Ruler’s collaboration previously came to a music video (embedded below).

Phife Dawg’s New Song “Nutshell” Features A J Dilla Beat & Shows His Music Lives On (Video)

Phife Dawg’s posthumous catalog has been relatively sparse, apart from his role in Tribe’s We Got It From Here…Thank You For Your Service released less than six months after Malik Taylor passed. In addition to that #1 LP, Phife’s solo song “Nutshell” released, with the veteran rhyming a J Dilla track.

One year ago, Redman confirmed that he and Busta Rhymes made another visual with Phifer. “We got a video…me, Busta, and Phife Dawg! His album is like some ol’ back-in-the-day…yo, his album is ridiculous. Yo, that’s what I’m really looking for,” Red told The Combat Jack Show at the time.

Black Eyed Peas Show They Can Still Get It Started Without Fergie (Video)

As for the Peas, the now-trio remains with Interscope Records. Along with the A&M and Geffen subsidiaries, the label has been home to B.E.P. for more than 20 years. 2018 video singles, “Get It” and “Street Livin'” did not make the album.

The Masters Of The Sun, Volume 1 tracklist is as follows:

1. BACK 2 HIPHOP feat. Nas
4. 4EVER
5. CONSTANT pt.1 pt.2 feat. Slick Rick
6. DOPENESS feat. CL
7. ALL AROUND THE WORLD feat. Phife Dawg, Ali Shaheed Muhammad, and Posdnuos
9. VIBRATIONS pt.1 pt.2
10. WINGS feat. Nicole Scherzinger
11. RING THE ALARM pt.1 pt.2 pt.3

Don’t Sleep On’s Artist LGP Qua. His Video Is Eye-Opening

#BonusBeat: B.E.P.’s “Constant, pt. 1 pt. 2” featuring Slick Rick: