ScHoolboy Q Chops A DJ Premier And Royce 5’9 Sample & Adds Some Boom

In less than 48 hours (April 26), ScHoolboy Q is releasing his fifth album, CrasH Talk. The Grammy-nominated TDE artist had previously dropped two video singles in his LP campaign. Less than six weeks ago, Q led with “Numb Numb Juice.” He followed with the Travis Scott-assisted “CHopstix.” Now he whets appetites with a third look, and it stands tall.

“CrasH” is produced by Toronto, Ontario’s Boi-1da (Drake, Eminem, Kendrick Lamar). The song chops down some of the same elements DJ Premier used nearly 20 years ago on Royce 5’9 breakout single “Boom” (embedded below). To make the influence clear, Boi-1da mimics the charged-up sound effects in Nickel Nine’s single that interrupt the softer strings. The 2019 homage has a contemporary bounce in its drums, one that fits perfectly in the Los Angeles, California MC’s canon.

ScHoolboy Q Said He’s Puff Daddy. His New Video Makes It Official.

For his raps, ScHoolboy Q adds some boom as only he can. Just as Royce has done in his career, Q takes an audit of his surroundings and explains why he is so careful with every move. “I mastered the Rap game / I mastered the dope game / Still I feel like I’m godlike on these long flights / I’m left behind, it don’t feel right / Can’t write the script when this real life / Rich, still dodgin’ that bus ride / From the West Side where don’t sh*t slide, we on trip time / Seen the field in their lies  / Can’t be serious with no rappers / Stayed down and what happened?  / Got my daughter that mansion / Gave my mother that million / Sold my soul to my feelings / Can’t go blind ’bout these women.” This decade, Q transcended from local obscurity to platinum stardom. He has written new chapters in the Gangsta Rap lineage while staying away from drama in the streets.

He begins the second verse alluding to his passion for golf. “Ni**a gotta hit the golf course to get a peace of mind / Family and friends want a piece of mine / I can tell they all piecin’ up / And I can show ’em where peace resides / Since eight years old, I knew I’d be rich / ‘Cause the college route, it wasn’t ’bout sh*t.” The lyrics come from a place of honesty from the 32-year-old. In a recent interview with The Real 92.3’s Bootleg Kev and DJ HED, Q described his love of the links.

Rappers Might Start Going To Jail Because Of Their Lyrics

In the following bars, the reality-based MC is honest about why he works to set an example. He wants the men who may court his daughter to have some principles. However, he speaks directly to her with encouragement and hope. “I’m kickin’ game for these young ni**as / ‘Cause one day they’ll meet my daughter / All that bullsh*t I taught her  / Way too blessed to be normal / Upper echelon, but we stand that / So, girl, be proud that your skin Black / And be happy, girl, that your hair napped / ‘Cause the school system won’t teach that / Where your father been, you gon’ reach that.

Q’s reported CrasH Talk album tracklist is as follows:

  1. Gang Gang [prod. DJ Fu & J-Bo]

  2. Tales [DJ Dahi, Jake One & G Koop]

  3. CHopstix (feat. Travis Scott) [prod. DJ Dahi]

  4. Numb Numb Juice [prod. DJ Fu, Carter & Nez + Rio]]

  5. Drunk (feat. 6LACK) [prod. Sounwave & DJ Dahi]

  6. Lies (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & YG) [prod. Sounwave & Carter]

  7. 5200 [prod. Sounwave & Illmind]

  8. Black Folk [prod. DJ Dahi & Jake One]

  9. Floating (feat. 21 Savage) [prod. Cardo & Juliano]

  10. Dangerous (feat. Kid Cudi) [prod. DJ Dahi]

  11. Die Wit Em [prod. Cardo, Juliano & Yung Exclusive]

  12. CrasH [prod. Boi-1da]

  13. Water (feat. Lil Baby) [prod. Cardo & Juliano]

  14. Attention [prod. Nez & Rio]

Playtime Is OVER. Oswin Benjamin Has The Best Freestyle Of 2019

#BonusBeat: Royce 5’9’s “Boom,” produced by DJ Premier: