Jay Electronica Kept Fans Waiting For A Decade. In 2020, He Has Released 2 Albums

Hours ago, Jay Electronica released the long-vaulted Act II: Patents Of Nobility (The Turn) album. Following this year’s proper debut album, A Written Testimony in March, Jay Electronica officially shared an album that has been touted for release since 2012. The release reached Tidal, the streaming platform led by JAY-Z, who signed Electronica to Roc Nation and worked extensively with him on this year’s earlier album.

This move bookends a decade-plus run where Jay was anticipated, following songs such as the Just Blaze-produced “Exhibit A,” “Exhibit C,” and a guest verse on Reflection Eternal’s “Just Begun.” After keeping fans waiting for much of that time, Jay gives that base two bodies of work in 2020. This album released unlike no other: over the weekend, a version leaked online circulated. The leak was acknowledged by Jay, who allegedly addressed sample clearance issues preventing proper release. Less than 48 hours later, the release was online.

Jay Electronica & Dave East Have Experienced Homelessness. Now They Help Others

The previously leaked LP, always thought to be the proper debut from the New Orleans, Louisiana MC/producer, comes as 16 songs, featuring JAY-Z, The-Dream, Serge Gainsbourg, and Elect’s group, The Bullitts. “Shiny Suit Theory,” featuring Jay and Dream, is one of the original songs that was also added to A Written Testimony. It again appears among October’s 16-song drop.

We discussed A Written Testimony in the first episode of Ambrosia For Heads’ podcast, What’s The Headline.

Here Is What Else Is Happening Of Note:

Megan Thee Stallion was the musical guest on the most recent episode of SNLNPR. There, the Houston, Texas MC condemned Louisville, Kentucky’s Attorney General Daniel Cameron for decidedly not bringing charges to any of the city’s police officers responsible for the shooting death of Breonna Taylor. Meg invoked quotes from Malcolm X and Tamika Mallory while offering a symbolic performance of her first #1 hit, “Savage.” ()

Last month, Kanye West appeared to urinate in a Grammy Award trophy in a video posted to Twitter. The move came amid criticism of the music industry, including its contracts, ownership standards, and award shows. LL Cool J, who has hosted the Grammy’s five times and won two trophies, told Desus & Mero that he found the action to be disrespectful. Uncle L reminded of his association with the award show—and noted that the institution has been actively working to improve. Cool J added, “Pissing on Grammys? Yo, piss on one of them space shoes,” referring to West’s Yeezy models for Adidas. ‘Ye currently has 21 wins, his last arriving in 2013. Earlier this year, Puff Daddy called out the Grammy Awards the night before the televised event. (Billboard)

Westside Gunn has released his first major-label solo album. WHO MADE THE SUNSHINE arrived Friday (October 2) via Griselda/Shady/Interscope Records. It features Slick Rick, Black Thought, Jadakiss, Busta Rhymes, Smoke DZA (and more) along with the usual squad of Benny The Butcher, Conway The Machine, Keisha Plum, Armani Caesar, and new GxFR artist, Boldy James. Production is handled by Daringer, Beat Butcha, Alchemist, and Just Blaze.

Former MTV veejay Ananda Lewis has revealed that she is battling stage three breast cancer. The 47-year-old, who previously hosted various MTV series and specials, confirmed that she has been living with the disease for the last two years. Last year, Lewis hosted While You Were Out for the TLC network. (AOL)

Royce 5’9 and Lupe Fiasco are partnering for a new podcast, The Lupe And Royce Show. The series hosted by the two revered Midwest MCs launches on October 8. The move makes Joell Ortiz the only founder of Slaughterhouse without a podcast. The announcement also arrives with Lupe’s TAPE TAPE two-pack alongside longtime producer/collaborator Soundtrakk. (Instagram)

#BonusBeat: Ambrosia For Heads’ official playlist, featuring new music by Action Bronson, REASON, Smoke DZA, Problem, Conway The Machine, and Vic Mensa, among other new songs: