Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly Tracklist Features Rapsody, Snoop Dogg & Bilal

Hip-Hop Fans, please subscribe to AFH TV, a streaming video service focused on real Hip-Hop culture. We already have exclusive interviews, documentaries, and rare freestyles featuring some of Rap’s most iconic artists and personalities, and much more is coming--movies, TV series, talk shows. We need your support. It is only $1.99/month or $12/year, and is available on iOS, Android, Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire and Google TV, for all subscribers. Start your 30-day free trial now. Thank you.

Less than 10 days away from release, it appears that the tracklist to Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly has been made public. iTunes posted the tracks to the March 23 sophomore major label album from the Compton, California star.


While only five featured guests were included on 2012’s good kid, m.A.A.d city, several more assembled for T.P.A.B. Quite notably, no Black Hippy members or fellow Top Dawg Entertainment artists are included. However, Snoop Dogg—who confirmed collaborative work recently—appears on “Instutionalized.” The longtime K-Dot supporter will appear on the track alongside Neo-Soul veteran Bilal, as well as Sonnymoon’s Anna Wise. Wise is the only returning supporting contributor from G.K.M.C., having been involved in “Real.”

Kendrick also reunites with Rapsody on “Complexion (A Zulu Love).” He appeared on 2011’s For Everything project, which released just months after Section.80.

Two Soul/Funk icons appear. George Clinton (Parliament, Funkadelic) guests on intro “Wesley’s Theory.” Previously, Clinton worked with iconic MCs including 2Pac, Ice Cube, and Outkast. Clinton will share the opening call with fellow Los Angeles, California native Thundercat. Additionally, Ronald “Mr. Big” Isley appears on “How Much A Dollar Cost.” The Isley Brothers co-founder helped inspire lead single “i,” and was reportedly one of the sonic sources Lamar studied (along with the aforementioned P-Funk) in writing and recording this album. James Fauntleroy appears alongside the Isley lead, having previously worked with Diddy’s Dirty Money, Big Sean, and close K-Dot affiliate Terrace Martin.

The tracklisting to Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly is as follows:

1. “Wesley’s Theory” (Feat. George Clinton & Thundercat)
2. “For Free? (Interlude)”
3. “King Kunta”
4. “Institutionalized” (Feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)
5. “These Walls”
6. “U”
7. “Alright”
8. “For Sale? (Interlude)”
9. “Momma”
10. “Hood Politics”
11. “How Much A Dollar Cost” (Feat. James Fauntleroy & Ronald Isley)
12. “Complexion (A Zulu Love)” (Feat. Rapsody)
13. “The Blacker The Berry”
14. “You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)”
15. “i”
16. “Mortal Man”

How do you feel about these guests, in theory?

Related: Kendrick Lamar Reveals New Details About His Upcoming Album to Rolling Stone