MF DOOM & Flying Lotus Announce Collabo Album, But Is It An April Fool’s Joke?

Hip-Hop Fans, please subscribe to AFH TV, a streaming video service focused on real Hip-Hop culture. We already have exclusive interviews, documentaries, and rare freestyles featuring some of Rap’s most iconic artists and personalities, and much more is coming--movies, TV series, talk shows. We need your support. It is only $1.99/month or $12/year, and is available on iOS, Android, Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire and Google TV, for all subscribers. Start your 7-day free trial now. Thank you.

As fans are holding their breaths, hoping that these two illusive artists aren’t playing an “April Fools” joke. [UPDATE: According to one of DOOM’s past labels, Nature Sounds Records, this is all a joke.] MF DOOM and Flying Lotus just announced their collaboration on an album titled Mask Of The North Star (artwork below):


From different sectors of music, both of which have been compared to Jazz, the pair have come together before, care of their 2014 single Masquatch,” and now they have reunited for a 17-track project that looks very promising, which Heads can all decide upon its May 5 release date.

The LP includes multi-genre bassist Thundercat, who is a frequent collaborator with Lotus and a featured artist and bass player for Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly. The project also includes Madvillain other half, Madlib (as Quasimoto), and El-P.

Outer Hip-Hop musical legends are also present on the collaborative effort, including Carlos Santana, and Thom Yorke (Radiohead). The tracklist itself gives us a look on how immense the album aims to be:

1. Mask Of The North Star f. Thundercat
2. Stink Noze
3. Thermite And Ice
4. Memories Of Green f. Quasimoto
5. Orion’s Belt f. Thundercat
6. Singularity f. Jneiro Jarel
7. Exiled
8. Xenon Gas Mask f. Thundercat
9. Stubble
10. Sloppy Giuseppe
11. Myztik Meg f. Thundercat & Carlos Santana
12. Police State f. El-P & Thom Yorke
13. Northern Lights
14. Crown Jewels
15. The Color Saturn f. Thundercat & Gonjasufi
16. Masquatch f. Thundercat
17. Baloney

While Nature Sounds is basically saying, ‘Don’t believe the hype,’ FlyLo is tweeting:

Whether with Danger Mouse, Madlib, Bishop Nehru, or even MF Grimm, DOOM has brought tons of awareness to his peers. Could this be the next great Metal Face collaborative effort?

Related: Finding The GOAT (Round 3): Jay-Z vs. MF DOOM…Who You Got?