Scarface’s Deeply Rooted Tracklist Includes Nas, Cee-Lo Green & More

Scarface’s twelfth studio album, Deeply Rooted will arrive on September 4. For the second time in Brad Jordan’s 25-plus-year career, the MC will release a studio album apart from Rap-A-Lot Records. While the follow-up to 2008’s Emeritus may be released on his own Facemob Music imprint, the trimmings of the LP’s 15 tracks look anything but low-profile.

Nas, Rick Ross, John Legend, and Cee-Lo Green are among guests, in addition to fellow former Rap-A-Lot artist Z-Ro, who appears twice. Papa Rue, who worked extensively with ‘Face on 2010’s Dopeman Music project also appears greatly involved. Producers are said to include longtime Scarface affiliates Mike Dean and N.O. Joe.

Nas and ‘Face extend a collaborative relationship that extends back to the 1990s. From I Am… to The Fix, to DJ Khaled’s “Hip Hop” single, the Queens, New York to Houston, Texas tandem has made enduring messages together.

Below is Deeply Rooted‘s artwork and tracklisting:


1 Intro
2 Rooted f. Papa Rue
3 The Hot Seat
4 Dope Man Pushin’ f. Papa Rue
5 Fuck You Too f. Z-Ro
6 Steer f. Rush Davis
7 Anything
8 Do What I Do f. Nas, Rick Ross & Z-Ro
9 God f. John Legend
10 Keep It Movin’ f. Avant
11 You f. Cee-Lo Green
12 All Bad
13 Voices
14 No Problem
15 Outro

Earlier this month, Scarface made it clear that following fan’s failure to reach a fundraising goal of $100,000, he would not participate in the Geto Boys’ proposed Habeas Corpus album. ‘Face, who did tour extensively in recent months with Willie D and Bushwick Bill (as the Geto Boys) added that he would likely tour with his band-mates in the future, but trusted the turnout, or lack thereof.

Following that news, the original lineup of the Geto Boys has decided to step in. In 1988, the Geto Boys’ first album, Making Trouble, released on Rap-A-Lot Records. The Houston, Texas crew consisted of Bushwick Bill, DJ Ready Red (who would remain with (and produce for) the group into the early 1990s), Prince Johnny C, and Sire Jukebox. For 1989’s Grip It! On That Other Level, ‘Face (as DJ Akshen) and Willie D replace Johnny and Jukebox.

However, according to Sir Jukebox, who recently appeared on The Murder Master Music Show, Geto Boys fans may still be getting something of an album in the heralded Gangsta Rap crew’s lineage. “[DJ Ready] Red, [Prince] Johnny [J] and I decided that we had one more in us so we are gonna sometime with in the next 90 days put out an album. I told them to call it No Country For Old Men like the movie because somebody needs to inject some substance back into the culture of Hip-Hop.” There has not been word if Bill, who was attached to Habeas Corpus fundraising, would re-join his original band-mates.

As the GB’z story grows, known for game-changing albums like The Diary and The Fix, can Scarface once again advance the Hip-Hop conversation?

Related: Scarface Speaks on His Health Problems & The Fans Deciding Against a Geto Boys Reunion Album.