Pete Rock & Smoke DZA Release The 1st Single From Their Joint Album & It’s Limitless (Audio)

A year to the day since Ambrosia for Heads reported that Pete Rock would be producing Smoke DZA’s new album in its entirety, the two have emerged on this Halloween with the first single from the much-awaited joint LP. Don’t Smoke Rock is the aptly hybridized title for the project, which, according to Babygrande Records, will arrive on December 2. Heads may recall that the producer-MC duo have worked together in the past, including on DZA’s 2014 project Dream.ZONE.Achieve, for which Pete Rock contributed the production on the album’s closing track, “Achieve.”

Smoke DZA’s Ear For Beats Is Superior. He Operates Over Some Opera (Audio)

Today (October 31), Heads are treated (and not tricked) to “Limitless,” which partners co-Harlemites DZA and Dave East (who have previously worked together as well, notably on East’s 2014 Black Rose mixtape cut, “Hermes”) atop some of the grungier production to emerge from Pete Rock’s career. Premiering with Billboard, the song (and in fact, the entire LP) is in part inspired by the effects of gentrification, with Rock saying “as diehard New Yorkers, it was important for us to make a record that embraces what New York truly feels like. We wanted to bring the listener into our world.” As such, the two MCs use their verses to depict a day in the Harlem life they remember, before, as DZA says, there “was a Chase Bank and Starbucks on every corner.”

Also announced today was Don’t Smoke Rock‘s tracklist:

1) Intro
2) Limitless – Featuring Dave East
3) Black Superhero Carr – Featuring Rick Ross
4) Hold The Drums – Featuring Royce 5’9″
5) Moving Weight PT1 – Featuring Cam’Ron & NYMLo
6) Wild 100s
7) Last Name
8) 1 of 1
9) Milestone – Featuring BJ The Chicago Kid, Jadakiss, & Styles P
10) Show Off – Featuring Wale
11) Dusk 2 Dusk – Featuring Big K.R.I.T., Dom Kennedy, & theMIND
12) I Ain’t Scared
13) Until Then – Featuring Mac Miller

Don’t Smoke Rock is available for pre-order on iTunes.