DJ Premier & His Band Rock Funky Beats From Nas To Gang Starr To KRS (Video)

As Hip-Hop celebrates its 44th birthday this month, NPR “Tiny Desk” concert honors the DJ in a way that Heads can appreciate. DJ Premier is the first mix-master on the popular video series, but he did arrive alone.

This summer, DJ Premier & The Badder Band toured the United States for the first time. The live act that made its debut overseas brought their pocket home. While that tour is complete, the vibes are transferred at National Public Radio.

This 6 Hour DJ Premier Tribute Takes All Other Mixes Out With The Fader (Audio)

With Brady Watt on electric bass, Lenny Reece on drums, and Mark Williams and Jonathan Powell on horns, the group rocks out in Washington, D.C. Moreover, Preemo sets the tempo with his scratches, cuts, and an emphasized use of his voice. Longtime Gang Starr and Premier Heads will notice that his signature set up of two turntables side-by-side with a mixer on the end is changed to the more traditional layout.

The concert lasts nearly a half-hour, with purist-approved cuts such as Gang Starr’s “The Moment Of Truth,” Gang Starr and M.O.P.’s “1/2 and 1/2,” and Das-EFX’s “Real Hip-Hop.” Preemo gets especially animated with the facial and body expressions during “Boom,” his 1990s debut with now-PRhyme partner Royce 5’9″.

DJ Premier Tells The Story Of This Photo With D’Angelo, Alchemist & J. Dilla, In His Words

The full set list:

  • KRS-One – “KRS-One Attacks”
  • KRS-One – “MC’s Act Like They Don’t Know”
  • Das Efx – “Real Hip-Hop”
  • Nas – “Nas Is Like”
  • Jeru The Damaja – “Da Bichez”
  • Gang Starr – “Step In The Arena”
  • Gang Starr feat. M.O.P. – “1/2 & 1/2”
  • Royce Da 5’9 – “Boom”
  • Gang Starr – “Moment Of Truth”

DJ Premier Gives The Inside Story On The Making Of JAY-Z’s Reasonable Doubt 20 Years Later

Past “Tiny Desk” concerts.