Rapsody’s Album Tracklist Features Some Of The Best MCs, But She’s In The Driver’s Seat

Hip-Hop Fans, please subscribe to AFH TV, a streaming video service focused on real Hip-Hop culture. We already have exclusive interviews, documentaries, and rare freestyles featuring some of Rap’s most iconic artists and personalities, and much more is coming--movies, TV series, talk shows. We need your support. It is only $1.99/month or $12/year, and is available on iOS, Android, Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire and Google TV, for all subscribers. Start your 30-day free trial now. Thank you.

UPDATE: One day after confirming the features, Rapsody has shared the tracklist to Laila’s Wisdom:

The September 22 album tracks are as follows. The “Oooweee” collaboration with Aftermath Entertainment’s Anderson .Paak previously appeared on late 2016’s Crown EP.

1. “Laila’s Wisdom”
2. “Power” (featuring Kendrick Lamar & Lance Skiiiwalker)
3. “Chrome (Like Ooo)”
4. “Pay Up”
5. “Ridin'” (featuring GQ)
6. “Sassy”
7. “Nobody” (featuring Black Thought, Anderson .Paak, and Moonchild)
8. “Black & Ugly” (featuring BJ The Chicago Kid)
9. “You Should Know / Bustalude” (featuring Busta Rhymes)
10. “A Rollercoaster Jam Named <3” (featuring Gwen Bunn and Musiq Soulchild)
11. “U Used 2 Adore Me” (featuring Terrace Martin of The Pollyseeds)
12. “Knock On My Door” (featuring BJ The Chicago Kid)
13. “Oooweee” (featuring Anderson .Paak)
14. “Jesus Coming” (featuring Amber Navran of Moonchild)

ORIGINAL SEPTEMBER 12 STORY: A year ago, Rapsody announced she had signed a deal with Roc Nation, thus becoming the first woman MC to join JAY-Z’s label. The former Kooley High member then dropped her EP, Crown. The North Carolina native has since been hard at work in the studio, to ensure that her third solo LP will be inked in the history books as one of the best albums of 2017.

At the top of September, Rapsody revealed the long-awaited Laila’s Wisdom would finally be released on September 22. She also shared the artwork for the album, which features a little girl sitting on a cloud in front of a wreath of flowers and jewels, along with the album’s first release.

Rapsody Is Going For The Crown & She Doesn’t Care Who’s Mad (Audio)

With help from Busta Rhymes, “You Should Know” is a sultry guitar and drum-ridden track, reminiscent of Goodie Mob’s “Cell Therapy” and produced by 9th Wonder. Rapsody rides the track effortlessly with lines like “I know some rappers only nice to me as jesters/ But really just afraid ’cause they know I go that hard/ Askin’ if so-and-so and I are gon’ rap together/ Yeah/ Don’t worry about it/ I ain’t worried about it/ There’s room in this game/ It ain’t crowded/ Aimin’ at the top/ Nowadays y’all worried about Miley Cyrus/ That’s a tear in my eye I ain’t cried/ It’s some paths to a milli homie/ You ain’t tried/ I count ten by fives/ I’m always halfway there in my mind/ It’s on you to catch up this time/ Cause you know.” Shortly after the song’s release, Busta Rhyme’s declared that Laila’s Wisdom was the best Rap album he’d heard in 10 years.

Busta Rhymes Says Rapsody’s New Album Is The Best Hip-Hop LP He’s Heard In 10 Years

With expectations already high, Rapsody has now elevated them even higher. Earlier this evening, she shared her list of guest appearances on Laila’s Wisdom, and they are from artists whom many would call some of the best in Hip-Hop and R&B right now. The list includes Kendrick Lamar, Black Thought, Anderson .Paak, Musiq Soulchild, BJ The Chicago Kid, Terrace Martin, Moonchild, Busta and more.

The melodic empress has previously worked with several of the artists, such as Kendrick (“Rock The Bells” and “Complexion (A Zulu Love)”), Anderson .Paak (“Without You”), Moonchild (“Fire“), and BJ (“Good Good Love”). If those past collaborations are any indication, the new material likely will be magical. The chance to hear her work with the likes of Black Thought, Musiq, Terrace and others is also an exciting prospect.

Here is the full list of features:

Kendrick Lamar
Anderson .Paak
Black Thought
Gwen Bunn
BJ The Chicago Kid
Busta Rhymes
Lance Skiiiwalker
Terrace Martin
Musiq Soulchild

Lailia’s Wisdom is set to be released on all music steaming services on September 22, 2017. Pre-orders are available here.