Elzhi & Khrysis’ 1st Collabo Single Shows What Jericho Jackson’s Got…FIRE (Audio)

Hip-Hop Fans, please subscribe to AFH TV, a streaming video service focused on real Hip-Hop culture. We already have exclusive interviews, documentaries, and rare freestyles featuring some of Rap’s most iconic artists and personalities, and much more is coming--movies, TV series, talk shows. We need your support. It is only $1.99/month or $12/year, and is available on iOS, Android, Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire and Google TV, for all subscribers. Start your 7-day free trial now. Thank you.

In two weeks, 9th Wonder’s Jamla Records is releasing the first collaborative project from Elzhi and Khrysis. The February 23 album takes its title from the Detroit, Michigan MC to Raleigh, North Carolina producer tandem’s group name, Jericho Jackson. The name is a reference to Carl Weathers’ character in 1988’s Action Jackson film.

Heads heard a short snippet of “Self Made” at the top of 2018, when the duo announced its formation. Now the full song premieres on Ambrosia For Heads, and there’s plenty to it. Khrysis’ groovy beat brings in mighty horns and thunderous drums. Meanwhile, Elzhi drops mighty healthy bars about how he’s “Self-made since twelfth grade, this is my callin’ / Every jewel I drop is money out the sky, falling / El’ is that ni**a, some of y’all forgot / When I’m jottin’ / My pen bleed while yours be blood-clottin’” That becomes the chorus, and rightfully so. Elzhi opens his first with, “Do I give ’em pain or give ’em mercy? Decisions, decisions / They say my bars set ’em free in all the prison divisions.” He proceeds to bombard with those kind of lines, cocky yet rich with creativity.

Phonte & Elzhi Reunite On A New Song & They Are Razor Sharp (Audio)

Elzhi also raps from the heart, with soul. In his lines, he addresses his past health concerns (as Heads heard on 2016’s Lead Poison). However, the focal point of the song is that El’ (like Khrysis) has built a career on his own terms through technically-advanced, artistically-conceptual music-making. Still, the onetime Slum Village member imagines better days ahead, with greater rewards and recognition for that pen that seemingly never stops bleeding dope ink.

The video to “Self Made” will premiere on VEVO February 22. One day later, the album releases. Pre-order Jericho Jackson here. Stay tuned to Ambrosia For Heads for more.

Khrysis’ Rhythm Roulette Beats Are Soul Council Scorchers (Video)

The album artwork appears in the audio embed above. Meanwhile, the tracklist to Jericho Jackson is as folllows:

1. World Of Illusion
2. Overthinking
3. Self Made
4. Cuffin Season
5. Seventeen
6. F.R.I.E.N.D.S.
7. To-Do List
8. Talkin’ Bout
9. Listen featuring Amber Navraan
10. Breguets
11. Thank You.