Royce 5’9 & DJ Premier Considered Madlib For PRhyme. They Can Rock It Regardless (Video)

Last Sunday night (February 25), Royce 5’9 and DJ Premier unveiled the tracklist for March 16’s PRhyme 2 album. The LP is confirmed to involve Rapsody, Big K.R.I.T., 2 Chainz, and Yelawolf. It is a cast (also including CeeLo Green) that seemingly favors southern voices. Already, PRhyme 2‘s first video single “Era” featured Dave East. The second single “Rock It” (released last week) is a strictly in-house affair. Now arrives that song’s visual.

Notably, in a video premiere interview with Andreas Hale at Billboard, Royce revealed that Madlib was in consideration (albeit brief) to supply the samples for album number two. “We talked about using Madlib. We had a short conversation with him. But the final decision was solely on [DJ Premier], and all I could do was make suggestions,” said Royce. The Slaughterhouse and Bad Meets Evil MC added that Philadelphia’s Antman Wonder proved to be a great fit once the team heard his material. However, while purely speculative, Royce does not role out “Da Beat Konducta” Madlib for a possible P3. Antman takes a role previously held by Los Angeles, California’s Adrian Younge on 2014’s PRhyme and its 2015 deluxe edition companion release. Although not a strictly sample-providing role, Madlib has produced standalone albums for MF DOOM, Freddie Gibbs, Percee P, and another Detroit MC, Guilty Simpson.

DMX, KXNG Crooked & Royce 5’9 Show King Kong Ain’t Got Nothin’ On Them (Audio Premiere)

In the “Rock It” video, Royce and Preemo perform their song. Just like PRhyme’s sound, the view is layered with a stacked visuals. There are slices to match the Gang Starr member’s fast hands and trademark scratches.

Nickel Nine blesses the track with a first verse worthy of the PRhyme pedigree: “I write for Sean Price and Dilla, my mic is Thriller / My ratchet blows, it’s trappin’ souls like Bryson Tiller / They sprayed the crib, left lead in the awnings / And that’s the very thing that gets me out the bed in the mornin’ / I got the bread in the corner, got my career in the sauna / I got no fear of dishonor, I bled and lived through trauma / First, the Fat Boys break up, then Bow Wow retires / And now y’all disrespectin’ the King / I come through there with the street sweeper for ni**as / Claimin’ they doin’ dirt and get to just disinfectin’ the scene / I’m what you call the epitomizer of gettin’ dark, I will spit a geyser / That’ll get these guys on the charts to fit a liger of bars / I’m feelin’ like the diamond on the permanent throne
Weed like the Qu’ran, burn it, you can get stoned.

DJ Premier Says He & Pete Rock May Be Exclusively Producing De La Soul’s Next Album (Video)

The PRhyme 2 tracklist:

1. Interlude 1 (Salute)
2. Black History
3. 1 Of The Hardest
4. Era featuring Dave East
5. Respect My Gun featuring Roc Marciano
6. W.O.W. featuring Yelawolf
7. Sunflower Seeds featuring Novel
8. Streets At Night
9. Rock It
10. Loved Ones featuring Rapsody
11. My Calling
12. Made Man featuring Big K.R.I.T. and Denaun (fka Mr. Porter)
13. Interlude 2 (Relationships)
14. Flirt featuring 2 Chainz
15. Everyday Struggle featuring Chris Chandler
16. Do Ya Thing
17. Gotta Love It featuring Cee-Lo Green and Brady Watt

MICK Has Created The Ultimate DJ Premier x JAY-Z Mashup Mix (Audio)

Already in 2018, Preemo’s sounds have appeared courtesy of Evidence and Apathy. The legendary DJ/producer has been especially prolific recently.