Nobody’s Smiling On Common’s New Album Artwork, Now Get The Tracklist

Now arriving in less than one month, July 22’s Nobody’s Smiling from Common visually lives up to its name. Now at Def Jam Records, the 22-year veteran of releasing penetrating Hip-Hop albums mean-mugs on an LP for the first time since his October ’92 debut, Can I Borrow A Dollar?. Heads may note that while many of Comm’s early works were facially nondescript, Be and Finding Forever saw the Chicago MC visibly joyful.

More than just for show, Nobody’s Smiling is said to be a reaction to Chi City’s street violence, among other issues. Notably, the deluxe edition features Windy City Rap peers King L (aka King Louie) and Lil Herb, currently some of Chicagoland’s biggest stars among the youth. The former, who is managed by early Kanye West manager John Monopoly, appeared on Yeezus.

Standard edition:


Deluxe edition:


UPDATE: Common has revealed the tracklist to Nobody’s Smiling. Guests include Lil Herb, No I.D.’s Cocaine 80s group, Def Jam label-mates Jhene Aiko, Big Sean, as well as Vince Staples:

1. The Neighborhood f. Lil Herb & Cocaine 80s
2. No Fear
3. Diamonds f. Big Sean
4. Blak Majik f. Jhené Aiko
5. Speak My Piece
6. Hustle Harder f. Snoh Aalegra & Dreezy
7. Nobody’s Smiling
8. Real f. Elijah Blake
9. Kingdom f. Vince Staples
10. Rewind That

Deluxe Edition:

11. Out On Bond f. Vince Staples
12. 7 Deadly Sings
13. Young Hearts Run Free f. Cocaine 80′s

Related: Common & Hype Williams Release a Visually Stunning Short Film for Kingdom (Video)