Run The Jewels 3 Is Coming In January. Here’s The Artwork, Tracklist & A New Single (Audio)

In October, Run The Jewels, the duo of Killer Mike and El-P, confirmed that their third eponymous albums was in the works, and kicked it off with the blistering single, “Talk To Me.” At the time, no other details about the album or its release were revealed, but “Talk To Me” was followed up by “2100,” released a day after the 2016 U.S. Presidential Election. The song was accompanied with the following statement from RTJ: “For our friends. For our family. For everyone who is hurting or scared right now. Here is a song we wrote months ago. We weren’t planning on releasing it yet but… well it feels right, now. It’s about fear and it’s about love and it’s about wanting more for all of us. It’s called 2100. We hope it finds you well.”

Run The Jewels Will Not Concede. Their New Song Says It All (Audio)

Now, new details on Run The Jewels 3 have surfaced, that give context to what they were alluding to regarding the timing of the release of “2100.” The song will be included on the album which Mike and P have now confirmed will be unleashed worldwide on January 13. According to Pitchfork, the album will be released digitally on that date, for sale and for free download, with CD and vinyl versions hitting stores on January 20.

Run The Jewels Release The First Single From RTJ3 & It’s Another All-Out Assault (Audio)

In connection with the album update, Run The Jewels have released the album’s artwork, tracklist and a new single, titled “Legend Has It.” While the first two releases have been politically-intensive, “Legend Has It” shows the rabble-rousing side of RTJ found on songs like “Lie, Cheat, Steal” and “Blockbuster Night Pt. 2.

The artwork features RTJ’s trademark symbol of a hand forming a gun pointing at the other hand which is making a fist. The hands are gold and look like they belong to some sort of futuristic alien. Timothy Saccenti, who designed the album cover, said of it “For us, the RTJ1 hands were about “taking what’s yours”—your world, your life, your attitude. The RTJ2 hands were wrapped in bandages, signifying injury and healing, which for us represented the growth in ideas and tone of that album. For RTJ3 the bandages are off, the chain is gone and the hands have been transformed into gold. For us this represents the idea that there is nothing to take that exists outside of yourself. You are the jewel.”


Guests on the album include Trina, Boots, saxophonist Kamasi Washington (Kendrick Lamar) and Danny Brown. Here is the full tracklist:

1. Down ft. Joi Gilliam
2. Talk to Me
3. Legend Has It
4. Call Ticketron
5. Hey Kids (Bumaye) ft. Danny Brown
6. Stay Gold
7. Don’t Get Captured
8. Thieves! (Screamed the Ghost) ft. Tunde Adebimpe
9. 2100 ft. Boots
10. Panther Like a Panther (Miracle Mix) ft. Trinadan
11. Everybody Stay Calm
12. Oh Mama
13. Thursday in the Danger Room ft. Kamasi Washington
14. Report to the Shareholders/Kill Your Masters