Heltah Skeltah’s Rock Is Releasing A Star-Studded Solo Album. The New Video Is Heat

Earlier this month, Sean Price’s Imperius Rex album released. The Duck Down Music LP debuted in the Top 200 and marked an acclaimed posthumous LP for the beloved Brooklyn, New York lyricist. Sean’s longtime Heltah Skelktah partner is next up to bat, with a symbolic tribute for P! Rock has announced his solo debut Rockness A.P. The title references his “Rockness Monsta” moniker, with the “A.P.” referring to “After Price.”

Sean Price Goes Ape On Alchemist Production In The 1st Video To His Upcoming Album

With the announcement of the September 22 release, Rock released video single “GW BaG.” The black-and-white vignette shows a relaxed Rockness Monsta rapping about his loves—which include his daughter (who, like Sean’s youngest, carries parts of her father’s name), herb, and all night romance. After a sparse drum and guitar arrangement, Rock breaks through. Between the chorus, he demonstrates some clever wordplay and emphasis around that trademark baritone delivery he claims he used first.

The LP will feature Wu-Tang Clan’s Method Man, Raekwon, Inspectah Deck, as well as Buckshot and Smif-n-Wessun (all guests on Imperius Rex). The Wu track is called “Camp Wu,” apparently a similar concept to Sean’s “Clans & Cliks.” Additionally, M.O.P., D12’s Kuniva, and Ras Kass are slated to appear.

Sean Price Passed Away 2 Years Ago Today. A New Video Shows His Legacy Lives On.

Rock and Sean (whose Rap career began as “Ruck”) released three Heltah Skeltah albums. The first two, 1996’s Nocturnal and 1998’s Magnum Force, were both Top 40 releases. After a decade hiatus, they reunited for ’08’s D.I.R.T. (Da Incredible Rap Team). Both artists were also Boot Camp Clik members. In the late ’90s, Rock would sign with Limp Bizkit/House Of Pain’s DJ Lethal imprint through Interscope Records. That LP, reportedly titled Planet Rock, would be shelved.

The tracklist and artwork to Rockness A.P.:


1. Just Rap
2. Wishin f. Kuniva
3. GW BaG
4. Camp – Wu f. Inspectah Deck, Method Man, Tek and Steele
5. Rumble for Me f. Kofi Black and Ron Browz
6. O.G.
7. FaxMachine f. M.O.P.
8. The Purge
9. Poof f. Buckshot
10. Declaration f. Raekwon, Ras Kass and the Last American B-Boy
11. Rockness A.P.
12. F.A.M. f. Young Noble
13. Shine Down f. Kofi Black
14. Da Steets Want Blood (Ron Browz Remix)

Boot Camp Clicks On Ruste Juxx & Rockness Monsta’s Off The Hinges (Video)

#BonusBeat: This recent Last 7 clip from Ambrosia For Heads analyzes Sean Price & DOOM’s collaboration, “Negus”:

Full Last 7 episodes.