O.C. & Apathy Join Forces As Perestroika. Here’s The Rugged First Look (Video)

It’s been two years since Apathy and O.C. announced they have a collaborative full-length album in the works titled Perestroika (the same as their official group name). Their plans are finally coming to fruition with the release of their anticipated album’s first single “Soviet Official.”

Premiering at Ambrosia For Heads, the Brooklyn-to-Connecticut connection’s debut single shows promise with their dynamic synergy within the archetypal East Coast boom-bap production. The song’s black-and-white visual has both rappers donning matching pitch black attire at nighttime. The beat amplifies Ap’s and O’s interspersed flows over jazzy brass, sauntering keyboards, and punchy drums.

O.C. Is A Great MC. He Makes A Song About What Makes A Good Man (Audio)

Perestroika means “rebuilding” in Russian and was the Soviet Union’s political movement and economic reform policy during the Cold War of the 1980s. The title reads as a metaphor of both Hip-Hop elder statesmen’s Northeast roots. Both of these MCs are tried-and-true rap traditionalists who began their careers in the 1990s. Their joint effort’s image their faux diplomacy in the most powerful nation on the farthest northeast latitude on the world map. Their agenda sets out to destroy the status quo and rebuild the political economy of the rap industry.

Coming from the remote city of Willimantic, Connecticut, Apathy’s resumé consists of his work with Celph Titled, Army Of The Pharaohs, five impressive solo albums with production from DJ Premier, Da Beatminerz, and Muggs. O.C.’s consistency in quality for his career began with his featured verse on Organized Konfusion’s breakout 1991 single “Fudge Pudge.” He has 10 albums in collaboration with the Rap’s top-tier producers and MCs, including his fan-favorite 1997 album Jewelz which turns 20 on August 19.

Apathy Cares About Hip-Hop’s Preservation On His Star-Studded LP (Album Stream)

Perestroika’s album is slated for September 22. In addition to streaming, look out for vinyl, cassettes, and CD.

#BonusBeat: The full Perestroika tracklist and artwork:


01. Live from the Iron Curtain

02. Tomorrow Is Gone (feat. Slaine & Kappa Gamma)

03. Soviet Official

04. Winter Winds (feat. Marvalyss)

05. Covey Leader to Raven

06. No More Soft Shit

07. Gorbachev

08. The Broadcast

09. Perestroika

10. STOMKILLCRUSHMODE (feat. Celph Titled)

11. What It’s All About

12. Globetrotters (feat. Jus Cuz)