200 MCs Celebrate DJ Kay Slay On The Ultimate Posse Cut

Last year, Hip-Hop lost DJ Kay Slay. The Harlem legend passed away on April 17, 2022. His 40+ year legacy began with graffiti and evolved into him becoming one of the biggest mixtape DJs in the world. The self-proclaimed “Drama King” ultimately used his tastemaking skills as a record executive and general purveyor of MC talent via his Streetsweepers Entertainment label.

DJ Kay Slay Has Passed Away At The Age Of 55

Many Hip-Hop Heads were introduced to Kay Slay as “DEZ”—his graf tag—when he appeared in the legendary documentary Style Wars. His work also appeared in Wild Style. A New York native from Harlem’s East River Houses, Slay eventually expanded from visual arts to music—though he remained dedicated the graffiti and painting

Kay Slay ultimately became a pioneer in constructing mega posse cuts. Over several years, he released tracks featuring 25, 50, and as many as 110 MCs. The “Rolling Deep” series of records were a veritable who’s who of artists, crossing multiple generations, genres and levels of commercial success. The man born Keith Grayson thrived on outdoing himself and surpassing expectations. At the time of his passing, he was in the midst of putting together his next installment of the series, “Rolling 200 Deep.”

The track has now arrived and it is epic in its proportions. “Rolling 200 Deep” features Snoop Dogg, Raekwon, AZ, DMC, Sha Rock, Sheek Louch, Ice-T, Freeway, M.O.P., Paul Wall, Grandmaster Melle Mel, Grand Puba, Big Daddy Kane, Joell Ortiz, Kxng Crooked, Rah Digga, OC, Treach, Skyzoo, Peter Gunz, Sticky Fingaz, Kurtis Blow, Big Gipp, Khujo, Ghostface Killah and literally more than 100 other MCs. The total runtime for the video weighs in at 62 minutes.

The release is years in the making, and it is a fitting sendoff to one of Hip-Hop’s pioneers.