1 Of DJ Quik’s 80s Underground Tapes Surfaces & It Bangs On Wax (Audio)

Hip-Hop Heads who pay attention know that DJ Quik’s career goes back a long way before 1991’s Quik Is The Name debut. The Compton, California MC/producer/DJ has always talked about his $10 “underground tapes” on records. In fact, the famed feud with MC Eiht and Compton’s Most Wanted started long before Quik was backed by Profile Records. Like artists do today with Internet singles and mixtapes, Quik started getting at his peers on hand-to-hand cassettes back in the CPT during the late 1980s. As a matter fact, the closing lines to 1994’s “Dollaz + Sense” had Q-U-I-K saying, “Y’all don’t understand, y’all can’t fade this / I’m the first nigga that was ‘Bangin on Wax’ / Yeah if you remember, 1987 underground tapes / And it don’t stop, and it won’t stop.

Elsewhere in lyrics, Quik has repped about his pre-Profile days of getting a name up in Hub City. This is why the multi-talent was courted by Eazy-E to be down with Ruthless Records, and fast became the city’s latest acclaimed producer, joining Dr. Dre, The Unknown DJ, and Yella. Chances are, you weren’t in Compton in the late ’80s or top of the ’90s, and had the foresight to purchase a cassette from the baby-faced rapper. Thankfully, these rarities have made their way online. No example is more famous than The Red Tape.

DJ Quik Speaks Up For The Black Community In Troubled Times (Audio)

Credited to 1987 (likely due to Quik’s aforementioned lyric), the music may be from after. Website It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold This Sac pointed out that these tracks reference N.W.A.’s “Gangsta, Gangsta” and LL Cool J’s “Jingling Baby,” both of which released after 1988. Moreover, Quik’s calling card single “Born & Raised In Compton” is included, sounding exactly as it did on the ’91 album. However, beyond guessing the exact year, this tape is a joy of free-form late ’80s Gangsta Rap. Even from the unsigned days, Quik had his crew in tow, from 2nd II None, to AMG (who references his newly-inked Select Records deal), to Hi-C. There is tough-talk, raunchy references, and a party vibe from the hungry MCs who would all find success (largely with Quik’s hand). Some of these bars and couplets would appear on albums to come. Even from the onset, David Blake was reppin’ for Miller Lite beers, fly cars, and freaks. There are also innovative, and ahead of their time samples from Kool & The Gang, Isaac Hayes, and Tom Tom Club, among others.

Heads who follow beef history (Quik and Eiht are now on good terms, with collaborative plans for 2017) should pay close attention to “Real Doe” (8:45). That’s where it all began…

DJ Quik Makes A Sequel To His Classic “Tonite” & It’s A Problem (Video)

Here is the tracklist:

1. Reprise Intro ft. 2nd II None & AMG
2. Underground Terror ft. 2nd II None
3. Chocolate Lover ft. 2nd II None
4. Real Doe ft. 2nd II None & AMG
5. Word To The D ft. 2nd II None
6. My Dick ft. 2nd II None
7. Born And Raised In Compton
8. Rita Is A Bitch ft. 2nd II None
9. Good Thing
10. Niggaz Trippin’ Freestyle ft. 2nd II None
11. Good Lover ft. 2nd II None

MC Eiht Reveals How He & DJ Quik Ended One Of Hip-Hop’s Ugliest Beefs (Video)

#BonusBeat: This is the demo version of “Dollaz + Sense,” with 2nd II None:

This track was later released on the circulated bootleg from KK and Gangsta D called Death Row Sessions EP.